ENDLESS NIGHT by Agatha Christie: A Review

EndlessThe story is simple, really. Boy meets girl, falls in love, and they get married. However, they do not live happily ever after.

The narrator of the story, Mike Rogers, is a poor man. He dreams of being rich, but he does not have the patience for hard work. When we meet him, he is a driver, a chauffeur. He takes time away from work to visit the English countryside. Visiting a village, he attends an auction. There, he meets Ellie Goodman. He woos her into a romance that results in a surprise wedding not long after.

Shortly before their nuptials, Ellie confesses that her last name is not Goodman. In fact, it is Guteman. She lied about her last name so he would not know she was rich. Naturally, her family is upset. They wanted her to marry someone in her own station. This does not dissuade the couple as they build a house in the same town where they met.

Not long after moving in, trouble begins to happen. A rock thrown through a window is really the worst of it, but it’s enough to upset Ellie. She insists that her governess move in with her and Mike, against his wishes.

I don’t wish to spoil the book for anyone who hasn’t read it, but I’ll admit I was expecting a mystery when I began reading. When I reached the hundred page mark and nothing major had happened, I looked it up. It was classified as a thriller. For two-thirds of the book, not much happens. Then it comes head-on. The story was enough to keep me entertained, but it is not one I am likely to reread in the future.

Rating: 3.5/5

About MacJew

I am Husband to a beautiful woman, Father to two dogs and two cats. I am dovoutly Jewish. I love to read and write. I am trying to expand my horizons on film beyond the typical Hollywood garbage, so I have been watching foreign films lately. My plans for this blog are to talk about various things that are of interest to me, including Judaism, history, movies, books, et cetera. Anything that comes to mind, really.
This entry was posted in Book Review. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

