Guns

It’s a hot topic issue now. Well, it seems to be more of one now than in recent memory. Sadly, politics seem to be spread equally. On Fox, you’ll hear about how one polls suggests that more people want less gun control. On CNN and MSNBC, you’ll hear how people want more gun control. And the sad truth? I have no clue what people want. I only know common sense.

I won’t spout statistics, nor will I bother you with what I believe. In fact, that seems to be the problem with both sides of the gun control argument: they are saying what they THINK will happen. Instead, I’ll tell you what I know:

1. Despite constant assurances from some on the Right, the current administration is not out to take away your guns. Nowhere has President Obama, or his staff, said that law abiding citizens will lose their guns.

2. Anyone can purchase a firearm today. Despite the Brady Bill, you can walk into a store that sells firearms and purchase one today. You will have to wait 8 days for a handgun, but a rifle or shotgun can be purchased within a matter of minutes.

3. If there is a gun show in your area, you can purchase any kind of firearm with no background check.

4. Keeping religion out of schools did not cause any of the shootings. There were school shootings even before Madalyn Murray-O’Hare won her case. The Bath School Disaster occurred in 1927. The Abington School District v. Schempp case was in 1963.

I won’t bother to get preachy or tell anyone what they should or should not do. What I will say is this: don’t blame anyone except those who perpetrated the crimes–perhaps their parents if they still live at home.

There are tons of people in this world that piss me off. Not one of them will I risk going to prison for killing/harming. It’s not worth it, and, frankly, I think angry sex is a lot more fun and makes you forget what your problems were to begin with.

About MacJew

I am Husband to a beautiful woman, Father to two dogs and two cats. I am dovoutly Jewish. I love to read and write. I am trying to expand my horizons on film beyond the typical Hollywood garbage, so I have been watching foreign films lately. My plans for this blog are to talk about various things that are of interest to me, including Judaism, history, movies, books, et cetera. Anything that comes to mind, really.
This entry was posted in Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

