The Perks of Being a Wallflower: A Review

I read this because of the movie. I figured I should go back to my basic principle to read the book before the movie. So far, it’s only failed me once where, even though the movie was straight from the book, it was still a disappointment to me because of minor things. Later that movie grew on me and is now one of my favorites. As for The Perks of Being a Wallflower? I haven’t seen the movie and after reading this, I’m not sure that I want to.

Why? Well the narrator, who uses a pseudonym in writing to an anonymous person, whom we never learn anything about, is a whiny bitch. At every turn, he’s crying. He crying because he’s happy, because he’s sad, because he’s scared. You name it, he cries. In fact, he cries so much, I can’t help but wonder how the hell he stayed hydrated enough to produce that much waterworks.

There really is no plot, per se, and I was okay with that. It just details the life of a Freshman in High School. He smokes marijuana for the first time, tries acid, learns about masturbation (seriously, what sixteen year old doesn’t know about Self Love?), gets drunk, pops his cherry, and has a crush on one of his best friends. He attends the weekly Rocky Horror Picture Show. And he and his friends are “infinite” (whatever the hell that means).

At the end of the book, the author gives us a big reveal for why his narrator is such a pansy. I won’t spoil it for you, but after reading this, I owe the library a new copy because I lost it in the pond behind my house.

About MacJew

I am Husband to a beautiful woman, Father to two dogs and two cats. I am dovoutly Jewish. I love to read and write. I am trying to expand my horizons on film beyond the typical Hollywood garbage, so I have been watching foreign films lately. My plans for this blog are to talk about various things that are of interest to me, including Judaism, history, movies, books, et cetera. Anything that comes to mind, really.
This entry was posted in Book Review. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

