I Love my Murderer: A review of Eclipse by Stephanie Meyer

The students at Forks High School, home of the Spartans, are preparing for graduation. Everyone is looking forward to the freedom of college…everyone, that is, except Bella Swan, although she would never admit it. Bella has been grounded since her return from ‘California’ (read Italy), and she has been very good, toeing the line and obeying Charlie’s every rule. Without warning Charlie decides to un-ground her if Bella promises to spend time with friends who aren’t Cullens.

Bella agrees and so this chapter of our story begins. This volume is inspired by Wuthering Heights though I see fewer parallels here that in the previous two installments. I also feel that Bella really shows her mettle here. When Edward tells her it is too dangerous to visit LaPush and her best friend Jacob, she finds a way around it. And when Edward would leave her home twiddling her thumbs while he and his family risk life and limb, Bella puts her foot down.

We also see Quilute legends here for the first time, and thanks to a skillful teller of tales, the old legends spring to immediate life and in full color. As Victoria’s net closes and she is gaining ground on avenging her mate, we see a wary compromise spring forth between the Cullens and the pack.

This installment is very much boom, boom, boom, boom, boom, just one after the other. One really gets the feeling that Bella barely has time to breath between actions sequences. It is a very strong and fast moving story, but not really one I could relate to, just because I’ve never had that love-triangle thing happen to me. I still really enjoy this book, I just see much less of myself in it.

****

About Navah Vesper Anat Yehudit

I am an avid fan of the Ballet, am expanding my tastes in Opera and all all Classical Arts. I enjoy Japanese art, needle craft, crochet, knitting, and though my past-times are old-fashioned, and some of my ideas are, that isn't necessarily a bad thing in this age of progress for the sake of progress.
This entry was posted in Book Review. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

