It’s the End of the World…And I Feel Fine!

Do you remember this lady?  If you don’t, then your memory is worse than Leonard Shelby’s or you were living in seclusion when she and her ilk were putting up billboards all over America promoting that the Rapture would arrive on 21 May 2011 followed by five months of earthquakes, tornadoes, and Justin Bieber concerts before the world completely ended on 21 October 2011.

As we all know, the Rapture never came.  Harold Camping, the lunatic behind it all went into seclusion for a few days.  There was speculation that he killed himself, ran away with all the money he’d stolen from the foolish people who’d given to his “cause”, or a number of other theories.  But the following Monday, he announced that after a few days of Prayer, he realized that the Rapture was not a literal one, and that people like this idiot had been Raptured only in spirit.  The world will still end, according to Camping, on 21 October.  Despite what this article and others like it, might have believe, the October date was ALWAYS part of Camping’s prediction.

On the bright side, though, on the off chance that Camping IS correct, at least I won’t have to pay my quarterly property taxes that are due 1 November.  However, my money is on reality not setting in, and he tries again in a few years (provided he doesn’t kick the bucket).

About MacJew

I am Husband to a beautiful woman, Father to two dogs and two cats. I am dovoutly Jewish. I love to read and write. I am trying to expand my horizons on film beyond the typical Hollywood garbage, so I have been watching foreign films lately. My plans for this blog are to talk about various things that are of interest to me, including Judaism, history, movies, books, et cetera. Anything that comes to mind, really.
This entry was posted in Religion. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

