King’s Envoy: Artesans of Albia, Book One by Cas Peace: A Review

In 1985, Stephen King and Peter Straub published The Talisman. It was a fantastic tale that deals with moving between worlds. In 2011, the film Thor came out that dealt with an exiled god from Asgard. In King’s Envoy by Cas Peace, the protagonist, Taran Elijah, can create portals between worlds. When we meet Taran, he has decided to leave the Fourth Realm. The reader is not left with a mystery of why, Ms. Peace is quick to give us an explanation that he is going to the Fifth Realm in search of a teacher to expand his knowledge.

In the Fifth Realm, we meet our bad guys. This is all within the first 20 pages, I might add. So, why did I bring up The Talisman and Thor? In those two stories, even when we meet the baddies, we still don’t understand their motivations until late (hell, to be honest, I’m still not sure what the motivation for the bad guy is in The Talisman). Here, though, we know that the bad guy wants to overthrow the throne. That’s simple enough, and it is early enough in the story that the reader can wants to read the book, wants to continue to read the book.

I certainly cannot wait until book two this series comes out because Ms. Peace has earned a fan.

4.5/5

To order this book, click on the image below:

The Talisman (See all Fantasy Books)

About MacJew

I am Husband to a beautiful woman, Father to two dogs and two cats. I am dovoutly Jewish. I love to read and write. I am trying to expand my horizons on film beyond the typical Hollywood garbage, so I have been watching foreign films lately. My plans for this blog are to talk about various things that are of interest to me, including Judaism, history, movies, books, et cetera. Anything that comes to mind, really.
This entry was posted in Book Review. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to King’s Envoy: Artesans of Albia, Book One by Cas Peace: A Review

  1. caspeace says:

    Jonathan, thank you so much for that wonderful review! I can’t believe you compared my writing to Stephen King and Peter Straub!! I’m very pleased you enjoyed the book that much.

  2. Thank you for a great post.

Leave a Reply

