History In The Making

May 1, 1945, it was announced that Adolf Hitler had committed suicide.  May 1, 2011, it was announced that Osama bin Laden was killed by U.S. Forces earlier that same day.

Before President Barack Obama took to the microphone, it was announced that bin Laden was killed a week before in some accounts.  Instead of wasting time going through and recounting everything, read this blog:  (I’ll wait).  Are you done?  Good.  I’m not interested in starting conspiracy theories, as most are complete and utter bullshit. What we must all take into account when it comes to information such as this is that there will always be misinformation.  Even now, less than four hours after the announcement, there are already people saying that bin Laden is still alive and well (look on Facebook, I’m sure you’ll see them somewhere).

My point in writing this blog tonight is not to insult the people who believe that bin Laden is still alive.  It is not even to insult the people who believe that President Obama timed this to coincide with starting his re-election campaign (if he wanted to gain real points, it would be after a Republican Candidate had selected, so use some common sense here people!).  Instead, I am writing this so that people will remember how we all felt in the days and weeks after 9/11.  We didn’t care if our neighbors were black or white; Christian or Jew or Atheist.  All that really mattered was helping out and being unified as One Nation, the way we were meant to be.

Tonight, the people on the streets of New York and D.C. have not forgotten.  Watching the television, I half expected to see a serviceman walk up to a nurse and kiss her, an image from VE-Day.  Instead, it was people singing and cheering, as they should.

About MacJew

I am Husband to a beautiful woman, Father to two dogs and two cats. I am dovoutly Jewish. I love to read and write. I am trying to expand my horizons on film beyond the typical Hollywood garbage, so I have been watching foreign films lately. My plans for this blog are to talk about various things that are of interest to me, including Judaism, history, movies, books, et cetera. Anything that comes to mind, really.
This entry was posted in History, Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

