SPRING FEVER

It’s that time of year again.  The sun is shining, the birds are singing, Earth is born anew, and most importantly:  in just a few short weeks, Baseball Season will officially start.  Sure, Spring Training is already in session, but unless you’re a Die Hard Fanatic, most people don’t pay attention to that.  You might as well be Jimmy Fallon in the remake of Fever Pitch to pay serious attention then.  However, come the start of the season, millions of Fans across the country will head to The Stadiums, whether they’re Major League or Minor just to get a smell of the grass, hear the crack of the bat.

Yes, Ladies and Gentlemen, Baseball Season is so close I can almost taste it. I’ll don my Pittsburgh Pirates gear, sit in the stands, and watch the games.  When I can catch them on television, I’ll watch them since I live in an area of the country that deigns Baseball not worth the time, unless it’s a station out of Chicago, and I can catch them playing them The Cubs.

But what is it about Baseball that drives an entire nation for half the year?  It has spawned numerous movies, plays, and songs.  During World War II, a Female League was started that was later immortalized in the movie A League of Their Own staring Geena Davis and Tom Hanks.  Over the years, other Women’s Leagues have started, but they’ve all fizzled for one reason or another.  Maybe it’s the chauvinism of The Players or of The Fans.  Perhaps it’s a bit of both.

As for what makes Baseball so lasting?  Perhaps it’s because it allows the boys to play in the dirt and roughhouse and call it work.  Or maybe it’s when the average person plays it, they’re transported to their childhood.  No longer are they the Adult who has to struggle to pay the bills.  Instead, they are Joey D and The Babe or Jackie Robinson.  These were the players who excelled at the sport before the Steroid Scandal.  These are names that will reverberate through time, which will be remembered as Heroes long after our names are forgotten by all but our own families.

About MacJew

I am Husband to a beautiful woman, Father to two dogs and two cats. I am dovoutly Jewish. I love to read and write. I am trying to expand my horizons on film beyond the typical Hollywood garbage, so I have been watching foreign films lately. My plans for this blog are to talk about various things that are of interest to me, including Judaism, history, movies, books, et cetera. Anything that comes to mind, really.
This entry was posted in Baseball. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to SPRING FEVER

  1. I am really thankful to the author of this post for making this lovely and informative article live here for us. We really appreciate ur effort. Keep up the good work. . . .

Leave a Reply

