Why Hollywood Pisses Me Off

There’s a reason why filmmakers should be careful in remaking a classic.  There is always the danger of upsetting fans of the original, of course, as well as alienating a new generation.  But there is a new problem.  It is something that they probably never consider:  the fact that the original has stood the test of time for a damned reason.

I just watched The Day the Earth Stood Still (1951) immediately followed by the 2008 remake.  For what it was, the remake was fine.  However, unlike with the 1951 film, I felt no emotional attachment to any of the characters.   In fact, it seemed the only reason to remake the film was so they could throw in CGI.  Much the same reason as Peter Jackson’s version King Kong, which I must say is marketedly better than the movie I watched tonight.

I must say, however, that not all remakes are horrible.  In fact, some have even surpassed the original, going on to become the preferred version.  The Maltese Falcon (1941) with Humphrey Bogart is seen as the definitive version, and much preferred to the 1931 film with Ricardo Cortez or the 1936 version Satan Met a Lady with Bette Davis.  All are based on the same source material, but it was happy circumstance the led to Bogey playing Sam Spade.

For whatever reason, Hollywood loves its remakes.  With an abundant source of books and real life stories to mine from, why must they remake the same stories again and again?  How many times must we have another adaptation of Dracula, A Christmas Carol, or retelling of The Bible?  We get it.  We’ve seen it before.  If they want to astonish us, or astound us, shock us even, why not find an author who is worth a damn and adapt their book.  There are untold numbers of books to begin with, and I’m sure we all have our ideas, so I won’t bore you with Mine (by Robert McCammon would agood idea).

About MacJew

I am Husband to a beautiful woman, Father to two dogs and two cats. I am dovoutly Jewish. I love to read and write. I am trying to expand my horizons on film beyond the typical Hollywood garbage, so I have been watching foreign films lately. My plans for this blog are to talk about various things that are of interest to me, including Judaism, history, movies, books, et cetera. Anything that comes to mind, really.
This entry was posted in Movie Review. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why Hollywood Pisses Me Off

  1. Mark says:

    I too am a fan of the original TDTESS and though I thought the new one was good, I felt something was missing. I thought the original robot was much more of a bad-ass and seem to actually care for his alien master. The new one looked cool but was an emotionless thing, bent on total destruction

Leave a Reply

