Separation of Church and State

You would probably think that, looking through this blog, that Madlyn Murray O’Hair wouldn’t be a person I admire.  You would be wrong.  Sure, she was an Atheist, but she had convictions that she stood behind.  Not only that, she also did something that few dare to do today:  take on the Religious.  I can’t speak for why she did, except, perhaps she believed that prayer in school infringed upon separation of Church and State.

There is prevailing myth we are Christian Nation simply because many of Founding Fathers were Christian.  This simply is not so.  A look at the First Amendment, of which I wrote about on 1 July 2010, and quoted the entire article, will show that The United States does not support a single Religion.  It was founded, instead, upon the belief that we can all practice as we choose.  It also means that if we are without Religion, we are free to go about our lives.

Recently, there has been a lot of talk about bringing Religion back into Politics.  This has been primarily from The Right.  It has no place in the Politics, a Courthouse, or a Public School.  Both Left and Right bristled at the thought of losing the National Day of Prayer, which is a joke, as far as I’m concerned because it is just forcing something into the faces of people who don’t believe.  The reason they don’t want to get rid of it because of tradition, and that’s it.

Similarly, while I’m as Patriotic as the next person, and I believe in saying The Pledge of Allegiance, the words “Under G-d” were not in the original text, but added years later so as not to make it seem as if The Pledge were a form of Idolatry.  To remove those two words would not lessen the impact of the meaning, but, instead, improve it, for we are “one nation, indivisible, with liberty, and justice for all.”

About MacJew

I am Husband to a beautiful woman, Father to two dogs and two cats. I am dovoutly Jewish. I love to read and write. I am trying to expand my horizons on film beyond the typical Hollywood garbage, so I have been watching foreign films lately. My plans for this blog are to talk about various things that are of interest to me, including Judaism, history, movies, books, et cetera. Anything that comes to mind, really.
This entry was posted in Politics, Religion. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

