Ground Zero Mosque

September 11, 2001 was a horrible day for all Americans. It’s one of those cliched times when you know exactly where you were when you first heard the news. We all were too much in shock to really think about who was responsible.

In the days and weeks that followed, the one that was certain, Americans were United. It didn’t matter about skin color, sexual orientation, or even about Religion. People cared only about preventing another attack.

But somewhere along the way that changed. Muslims became the bad guys. It wasn’t just the terrorists, but Islam itself.

In a bid prove that not all Muslims are terrorists, a $100 Million dollar Community Center is being built blocks from Ground Zero in NYC. People are not upset about the Community Center, but that it includes a Mosque. They see as defiling Holy ground.

I’m actually in favor of the Mosque. I see it as a way to bridge the gap in the Cultural divide. We need to be able to learn about each other, instead of demonizing what we don’t understand.

I know I’ll catch some hell for supporting this, but let me give my reasons. I had friends who were injured and killed at the Pentagon that day. These are people I have known since I was a child. The people responsible for the Community Center in New York are NOT the same people responsible for the deaths of so many that fateful day.

I will make one concession, though. The proposed date for opening. If all goes as planned, it will be 9-11-11. I understand it’s to honor those who lost their lives. I feel no animosity for their choosing the date, but as a sign of good will, to the people who lost loved ones, why not push the date back?

About MacJew

I am Husband to a beautiful woman, Father to two dogs and two cats. I am dovoutly Jewish. I love to read and write. I am trying to expand my horizons on film beyond the typical Hollywood garbage, so I have been watching foreign films lately. My plans for this blog are to talk about various things that are of interest to me, including Judaism, history, movies, books, et cetera. Anything that comes to mind, really.
This entry was posted in Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

