Vampire Fiction

I don’t understand the fascination with vampire fiction, particularly with women. I’ve read Interview With A Vampire, the Twilight saga, the Last Vampire series, and serveral others. I like them, but I don’t see the mass exodus to the bookstores once the latest books hit the shelves.

The days when Vampires were the creatures that lurked in the shadows, and Van Helsing was the hero seem to be lost. Instead, we now have Edward Cullen, Henry Fitzroy, and Eric Northman: all Vampires who are written as heroes that we meant to have love. It is often the humans that we detest.

What is it about this genre that has such mass appeal? Is it the forbidden fruit? The possibility for eternal life? What about the more basic erotica? I don’t know.

As with any genre, there are good books and bad. It’s not for me to decide. Nor is it for me to persuade you.

Here are a list of Vampire novels that I’ve read that I’ve enjoyed. Perhaps you’ll like them, too.

In no particular order:

They Thirst by Robert McCammon (out of print)
Dracula by Bram Stoker
‘salem’s Lot by Stephen King
Necroscope series by Brian Lumley
The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova
The Vampyre by John Polidori
Interview With The Vampire by Anne Rice
The Last Vampire by Christopher Pike
The Twilight Saga by Stephanie Meyer (hey, screw you! So what if I like ’em?)
Blood Price by Tanya Huff
Guilty Pleasures by Laurell K. Hamilton

(In the case of the last two, I’ve only read the first book in the series, so I can’t comment on the rest of the series)

To order any of the books mentioned, click on the image below:

About MacJew

I am Husband to a beautiful woman, Father to two dogs and two cats. I am dovoutly Jewish. I love to read and write. I am trying to expand my horizons on film beyond the typical Hollywood garbage, so I have been watching foreign films lately. My plans for this blog are to talk about various things that are of interest to me, including Judaism, history, movies, books, et cetera. Anything that comes to mind, really.
This entry was posted in Book Review. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Vampire Fiction

  1. Gwenyth Love says:

    I loved the Tanya Huff series. I am surprised more people don’t know about it. Laurell K Hamilton is also really good…up to the point where she just writes smut and no story (about 5-6 books I think?).

Leave a Reply

