The Importance of Family

I’ve been thinking a lot about family lately. My wife and I have no children. We want them, but have been unsuccessful in that front. However, what constitutes a family? Is it a husband and wife and children? Or is it more?

In the movie Defiance, the Bielski brothers, an actual family, create a community that becomes a larger family.

Families do not have to be made from blood or marriage. They can even be highly unorthodox. My wife and I call our two dogs and a cat our children. I have several friends that I consider brothers. And I have no doubt they feel the same.

Family is important for a variety of reasons. They can be there to share the good news, the bad news, and even just for a shoulder to cry on. They don’t have to say anything: just be there.

About MacJew

I am Husband to a beautiful woman, Father to two dogs and two cats. I am dovoutly Jewish. I love to read and write. I am trying to expand my horizons on film beyond the typical Hollywood garbage, so I have been watching foreign films lately. My plans for this blog are to talk about various things that are of interest to me, including Judaism, history, movies, books, et cetera. Anything that comes to mind, really.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

