Gay Marriage

Gay Marriage

In recent years, there has been a lot of opposition to Gay Marriage. People point to the Bible, and say it’s a sin. These same people, often ignore other passages from the same Holy texts, so how is their opinion reliable?

The simple fact is that there are 613 laws in the Torah. G-d knew that this would be too many for the majority of the world to follow. That is why He gave Moses the Ten Commandments at Sinai. G-d only expects His chosen people to follow the Mizvot. Sure, there are many that are no longer applicaple, like sacrifices, but many still apply.

So how does this tie in with Gay Marriage? In the passage that says, “Do not lie with a male as one lies with a woman; it is an abhorrence” (Lev. 18:22), and the one says, “If a man lies with a male as one lies with a woman, the two of them have done an abhorren thing; they shall be put to death–their bloodguilt is upon them” (Lev. 20:13), they are meant for only for the Jewish people, and not for the Gentiles.

Even now, in the 21st century, there is still a stigma, however. Two gay women are looked upon with indifference. Two gay men, however, are viewed with scorn. The reasons are varied, but in the Jewish community, it is, often, because of the destruction of the sperm.

I am very devout in my faith, but I see no problem in looking beyond those two passages. They are archaic, and it shows that the person who wrote them did not understand that G-d is loving of all.

Marriage is not just between a man and a woman. It is between two hearts that have bonded in love.


About MacJew

I am Husband to a beautiful woman, Father to two dogs and two cats. I am dovoutly Jewish. I love to read and write. I am trying to expand my horizons on film beyond the typical Hollywood garbage, so I have been watching foreign films lately. My plans for this blog are to talk about various things that are of interest to me, including Judaism, history, movies, books, et cetera. Anything that comes to mind, really.
This entry was posted in Religion. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Gay Marriage

  1. Haunty says:

    I don’t generally reply to articles but I’ sure will in this case. Wow a big thumbs up for this one C CLass IP hosting!

  2. talk radio says:

    Awesome article, but just curious, what is your main field of expertise? Do you write part time, or are you a professional in your field? I wouldn’t mind reading an About Us section or something to describe what you do so I can better understand your point of view.

    • MacJew says:

      I’m actually a part-time blogger, but working on a novel about the Eichmann trial in Israel. My wife works in Retail and is also a part-time blogger for the site. Neither of us has any field of expertise, we are just very opinionated.

Leave a Reply

