Fear

In his 1933 Inaugural address, Franklin Roosevelt said, “The only thing we have to fear is fear itself.” But he wasn’t exactly honest, was he?

We, as humans, have a lot to fear. The Great Unknown is something many people dread. Some people use Psychics and Tarot to divine the future, in hopes that the fear will lessen. It sometimes works for those people because they might get a glimmer of hope. For others, they just leave more confused than before.

My wife has surgery coming up in a few weeks. It is a routine procedure, but I have fear. I have been with this woman for 7 years, and I cannot imagine my life without her if something were to go wrong in the OR. I am scared, but that is part of the Human Experience.

Without Fear, there is no courage, and no sacrifice. Surely, you must kid yourself if you think that Audie Murphy went through WWII without Fear. He wouldn’t have been able to accomplish any of those heroic feats without it.

I have no grand illusions that I am a brave man. I wouldn’t rush into a building that was on fire to save a complete stranger. However, I like to think that if I saw someone abusing a child in public, I would stand up for the child. And I mean more than just a mere spanking, but true abuse.

To conquer the Fear that is fostered in us is no easy task for anyone. Certainly, we should not forget it is there. It an essential part of us. It’s as much a part of us as our ability to love. The difference is that we must remember which one is the primary emotion, and let that one take over.

About MacJew

I am Husband to a beautiful woman, Father to two dogs and two cats. I am dovoutly Jewish. I love to read and write. I am trying to expand my horizons on film beyond the typical Hollywood garbage, so I have been watching foreign films lately. My plans for this blog are to talk about various things that are of interest to me, including Judaism, history, movies, books, et cetera. Anything that comes to mind, really.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

