This Ain’t Your Grandaddy’s Werewolf Story

The Wolf’s Hour by Robert R. McCammon is a superb novel. Instead of relying on cheap tricks for thrills, Mr. McCammon gets inside of the character’s minds, making us feel for the characters. When they are in danger, we are on the edge of our seats, wondering what is going to happen to them next.

The book starts out in the deserts of Africa, as Rommel plows ahead at El Alamein. We are soon introduced to novel’s protagonist, Michael Gallatin in his alternate form, when he steals maps from the German camp so that he can give them to the Allies. He then escapes to the bed of a beautiful woman. After a night of passionate lovemaking, an assassin is sent to dispatch of her.

Two years go by before we meet up with Michael again, and two Allied agents are sent to ask for his help. They know nothing of his special ability to transform into a wolf. They only know they are supposed to ask him for his help. The mission is to find out what a certain man in Paris knows, and help D-Day go off without a hitch.

The book goes back and forth between 1944 and when Michael was younger. This might leave many readers disillusioned, but it serves a purpose to whet the appetite, to make us want to learn to more about the man. His past is as interesting as the main story, and, in many ways, even more interesting. It even serves a purpose to say to us, in real life, without our past, what are we now?

The cast of cast of characters is amazing, and stayed with me well after reading it.

For anyone who is a World War II fanatic, I highly recommend this novel. For anyone who enjoys Werewolf fiction, I also I highly recommend this novel. For anyone enjoys a good spy novel, I highly recommend this novel. But just in general, if you are looking for a good book, I highly recommend this novel.

About MacJew

I am Husband to a beautiful woman, Father to two dogs and two cats. I am dovoutly Jewish. I love to read and write. I am trying to expand my horizons on film beyond the typical Hollywood garbage, so I have been watching foreign films lately. My plans for this blog are to talk about various things that are of interest to me, including Judaism, history, movies, books, et cetera. Anything that comes to mind, really.
This entry was posted in Book Review. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to This Ain’t Your Grandaddy’s Werewolf Story

  1. I have yet to read this! Seems to have everything I’d enjoy along with the author already being one of the best there is! Thanks. Summer reading here I come…

Leave a Reply

