“There’s No Such Thing As An Atheist In A Foxhole”

“There’s no such thing as an Atheist in a Foxhole.”

My dad used to tell me that, and I believed him. I still do. More so now than ever. After having spent some time in jail, I saw so many people come to Jesus in repentence of their sins that it was almost a Hollywood cliche. Perhaps, I’m being cynical, but once they were released, how many straightened up, and kept their faith?

Not many would be my guess. And that’s the point: when you’re staring down the barrel of a gun, you will say or do anything to get out of harm’s way. In that moment, you mean it, and G-d knows you mean it. However, it is up to you to carry through.

Look at it this way, if you do the work for someone, and expect to get paid, but the check isn’t there at the end of the week, you’re going to get pretty upset, aren’t you? Maybe you won’t want to work for that person anymore, right? If you ask G-d for something, and say you will do something in return (read your Bible, go to Religious services, or whatever), but you don’t follow through, why should you expect Him to help you out in the future?

About MacJew

I am Husband to a beautiful woman, Father to two dogs and two cats. I am dovoutly Jewish. I love to read and write. I am trying to expand my horizons on film beyond the typical Hollywood garbage, so I have been watching foreign films lately. My plans for this blog are to talk about various things that are of interest to me, including Judaism, history, movies, books, et cetera. Anything that comes to mind, really.
This entry was posted in Religion. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

